I had no idea I was such a terrible person!


I am a white senior citizen that voted for Donald Trump. I guess I deserve “slings and arrows.”

Salon.com has run a few articles this year designed to enlighten me as to my character flaws. I never knew it, but it appears I am a “racist,” that I have “no resilience to stress” (despite the fact that I have operated on fetuses still in the womb), I don’t understand my “whiteness,” I’m “fragile” (despite having been entrusted by hundreds of pregnant women to make some of the rarest of diagnoses – diagnoses that will ultimately have a profound effect on their lives), I’m “angry” (well , they got that right – I’m angry at the current moron occupying the White House whose presidency has been a string of disasters with expensive vacations in between), I’m “dumb” despite being a Professor in three different Departments at a prestigious university, and the list goes on. It is true that I like tacos, but yoga – not so much.

The invention of the white working class: The phrase of the year is racist hogwash

White is the new white: Too many white people know what they are not, but don’t understand what they are

White people can’t hang: Black Americans may be more resilient to stress than white Americans

Fighting back against Donald Trump’s angry white voters

White fragility is real: 4 questions white people should ask themselves during discussions about race

White prosperity over racial equality: It’s (still) the American way

Stuff white people like: Yoga, tacos and pretending the white supremacy that fuels cultural appropriation doesn’t exist

We must shame dumb Trump fans: The white working class are not victims

[Source: The 10 Most Annoying Liberals of 2016, by John Hawkins]

Progressive/Statist/Altruists have two talents. The are experts at naming things (Affordable Care Act, The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act, War on Poverty) and calling people names – like me.

Roy Filly

About Roy Filly

Please read my first blog in which I describe myself and my goals.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I had no idea I was such a terrible person!

  1. Regarding this ‘racist’ appellation, people of many races have come the the United States because of the ideals of the value of the individual, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. True, a century and a half ago slaves were given paper freedom, yet the lives of most Americans (at that time) were weighted with the sadly-prevailing notion that slaves were inferior. It was hard for many, if not most, to retain what had been their upbringing. Still, nowhere else in the world has a nation attempted to maintain and improve the relations of citizens of all backgrounds and races to each other better than here in the US.

    I graduated from Berkeley High School in Berkeley, California in 1948 with a good friend whose skin was “black.” At our fiftieth high school reunion he said to me, “I am tired of the labels ‘Black American’ and ‘Afro-American’ simply because I AM AN AMERICAN.” I strongly replied, “So am I.” It would be ideal, if others of his race (and other races, including mine), could understand the same thing.

  2. Flayer says:

    I’m also tired of being lectured by the likes of Mooch and Barry from their vacations that I have paid for to the tune of nearly $100 million. The entire extended royal family of the Britain spent $2 million for one year, vs the approaching $100 million for the 4 Obamas. it will be such a frefreshing change to be thanked rather than apologized for. Trump completed a post-election “thank you” tour. Obama and Hillary apologize for us never quite meeting their high expectations. Oh, and another pet peeve: what “race” are “Hispanics”? Are they not of Spanish origin? The last time I checked, Spain is still in Europe, so Hispanics are European, no? (And descendants of Conquistadores.)

Leave a Reply

